Coverart for item
The Resource A naked singularity, Sergio de la Pava

A naked singularity, Sergio de la Pava

Label
A naked singularity
Title
A naked singularity
Statement of responsibility
Sergio de la Pava
Title variation
Naked singularity
Title variation remainder
a novel
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis's A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, 'Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law.' A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law."--Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
ICU/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pava, Sergio de la
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3616.A9545
LC item number
N35 2012
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Legal stories
  • Public defenders
  • New York legal system
  • Criminal law
Label
A naked singularity, Sergio de la Pava
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn744978518
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
University of Chicago Press edition.
Extent
678 pages
Isbn
9780226141794
Isbn Type
(paperback : alkaline paper)
Lccn
2011032343
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o744978518
  • (OCoLC)744978518
Label
A naked singularity, Sergio de la Pava
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn744978518
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
University of Chicago Press edition.
Extent
678 pages
Isbn
9780226141794
Isbn Type
(paperback : alkaline paper)
Lccn
2011032343
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o744978518
  • (OCoLC)744978518

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      303 North Laura Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32202, US
      30.328998 -81.657873
Processing Feedback ...