The Resource Dimestore, Lee Smith

Dimestore, Lee Smith

Label
Dimestore
Title
Dimestore
Statement of responsibility
Lee Smith
Title variation
Dimestore
Title variation remainder
a writer's life
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Evenly divided between a book about Smith's process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son's mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr's The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for it's elegant and evocative writing. -- Lois Gross for LibraryReads.,"--NoveList
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1944-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Smith, Lee
Dewey number
  • 813/.54
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Smith, Lee
  • Novelists, American
  • Grundy (Va.)
  • Grundy (Va.)
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / General
Label
Dimestore, Lee Smith
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Preface: Raised to leave: some thoughts on "culture" -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy, or, Losing the mind of the South -- Good-bye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books -- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Control code
ocn911255341
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
xix, 202 pages
Isbn
9781616205027
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustration
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o911255341
  • (OCoLC)911255341
Label
Dimestore, Lee Smith
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Preface: Raised to leave: some thoughts on "culture" -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy, or, Losing the mind of the South -- Good-bye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books -- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Control code
ocn911255341
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
xix, 202 pages
Isbn
9781616205027
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustration
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o911255341
  • (OCoLC)911255341

Library Locations

    • Beaches BranchBorrow it
      600 3rd Street, Neptune Beach, FL, 32266, US
      30.3197825 -81.3981043
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      303 North Laura Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32202, US
      30.328998 -81.657873
    • Pablo Creek RegionalBorrow it
      13295 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32246, US
      30.289039 -81.4732779
    • Regency Square BranchBorrow it
      9900 Regency Square Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32225, US
      30.3256904 -81.5427005
    • Southeast RegionalBorrow it
      10599 Deerwood Park Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32256, US
      30.2489723 -81.5395619
    • West BranchBorrow it
      1425 Chaffee Rd S, Jacksonville, FL, 32221, US
      30.2943798 -81.84773849999999
Processing Feedback ...