The Resource Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais

Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais

Label
Hum if you don't know the words
Title
Hum if you don't know the words
Statement of responsibility
Bianca Marais
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy. Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad, a ten-year-old white girl living with her parents in 1970s Johannesburg. In the same nation but worlds apart, Beauty Mbali, a Xhosa woman in a rural village in the Bantu homeland of the Transkei, struggles to raise her children alone after her husband's death. Both lives have been built upon the division of race, and their meeting should never have occurred. Until the Soweto Uprising, in which a protest by black students ignites racial conflict, alters the fault lines on which their society is built, and shatters their worlds when Robin's parents are left dead and Beauty's daughter goes missing. After Robin is sent to live with her loving but irresponsible aunt, Beauty is hired to care for Robin while continuing the search for her daughter. In Beauty, Robin finds the security and family that she craves, and the two forge an inextricable bond through their deep personal losses. But Robin knows that if Beauty finds her daughter, Robin could lose her new caretaker forever, so she makes a desperate decision with devastating consequences. Her quest to make amends and find redemption is a journey of self-discovery in which she learns the harsh truths of the society that once promised her protection. Told through Beauty and Robin's alternating perspectives, the interwoven narratives create a rich and complex tapestry of the emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid-era South Africa. Hum if You Don't Know the Words is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1976-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Marais, Bianca
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.M3414
LC item number
H86 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • Apartheid
  • Families
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Coming of Age
  • FICTION / Family Life
Label
Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961002531
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
420 pages
Isbn
9780399575068
Lccn
2016043197
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 1251937
  • (Sirsi) o961002531
  • (OCoLC)961002531
Label
Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961002531
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
420 pages
Isbn
9780399575068
Lccn
2016043197
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 1251937
  • (Sirsi) o961002531
  • (OCoLC)961002531

Library Locations

    • Argyle BranchBorrow it
      7973 Old Middleburg Road S, Jacksonville, FL, 32222, US
      30.201307 -81.82120979999999
    • Dallas Graham BranchBorrow it
      2304 Myrtle Avenue N, Jacksonville, FL, 32209, US
      30.35166 -81.6760625
    • Highlands RegionalBorrow it
      1826 Dunn Avenue, Jacksonville, FL, 32218, US
      30.4342683 -81.6760201
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      303 North Laura Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32202, US
      30.328998 -81.657873
    • Mandarin BranchBorrow it
      3330 Kori Road, Jacksonville, FL, 32257, US
      30.2052475 -81.62087989999999
    • Regency Square BranchBorrow it
      9900 Regency Square Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32225, US
      30.3256904 -81.5427005
    • Southeast RegionalBorrow it
      10599 Deerwood Park Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32256, US
      30.2489723 -81.5395619
    • University Park BranchBorrow it
      3435 University Blvd N, Jacksonville, FL, 32277, US
      30.3619392 -81.60437619999999
    • Charles Webb Wesconnett RegionalBorrow it
      6887 103rd Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32210, US
      30.2491623 -81.756884
Processing Feedback ...