Coverart for item
The Resource London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson

London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson

Label
London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey
Title
London rain
Title remainder
a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey
Statement of responsibility
Nicola Upson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson's popular series--perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs--that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king. London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals. Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain's most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford--and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony. Josephine's dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets...caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making. Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge--and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Upson, Nicola
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6121.P76
LC item number
L66 2016
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
Josephine Tey
Series volume
6
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Tey, Josephine
  • Women dramatists
  • Murder
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
Label
London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Originally published as London Rain in Great Britain in 2015 by Faber & Faber
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn913332623
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
329 pages
Isbn
9780062418159
Lccn
2015026889
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 1212522
  • (Sirsi) o913332623
  • (OCoLC)913332623
Label
London rain : a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey, Nicola Upson
Publication
Note
Originally published as London Rain in Great Britain in 2015 by Faber & Faber
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn913332623
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
329 pages
Isbn
9780062418159
Lccn
2015026889
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 1212522
  • (Sirsi) o913332623
  • (OCoLC)913332623

Library Locations

    • Beaches BranchBorrow it
      600 3rd Street, Neptune Beach, FL, 32266, US
      30.3197825 -81.3981043
    • Highlands RegionalBorrow it
      1826 Dunn Avenue, Jacksonville, FL, 32218, US
      30.4342683 -81.6760201
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      303 North Laura Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32202, US
      30.328998 -81.657873
    • Mandarin BranchBorrow it
      3330 Kori Road, Jacksonville, FL, 32257, US
      30.2052475 -81.62087989999999
    • Pablo Creek RegionalBorrow it
      13295 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32246, US
      30.289039 -81.4732779
    • Southeast RegionalBorrow it
      10599 Deerwood Park Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32256, US
      30.2489723 -81.5395619
    • West BranchBorrow it
      1425 Chaffee Rd S, Jacksonville, FL, 32221, US
      30.2943798 -81.84773849999999
Processing Feedback ...