Coverart for item
The Resource Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author

Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author

Label
Often I am happy : a novel
Title
Often I am happy
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • dan
  • eng
Summary
"This elegant and nuanced literary gem explores the intricacies of friendship, secrets, and two marriages, for fans of The Dinner and Dept. of Speculation. "Often I am happy and yet I want to cry; / For no heart fully shares my joy." -B.S. Ingemann Ellinor is seventy. Her husband Georg has just passed away, and she is struck with the need to confide in someone. She addresses Anna, her long-dead best friend, who was also Georg's first wife. Fully aware of the absurdity of speaking to someone who cannot hear her, Ellinor nevertheless finds it meaningful to divulge long-held secrets and burdens of her past: her mother's heartbreaking pride; Ellinor's courtship with her first husband; their seemingly charmed friendship with Anna and Georg; the disastrous ski trip that shattered the two couples' lives. Wry and mellow yet infused with subdued emotion, this philosophical, lyrical novel moves in parallel narrative threads while questioning the assumptions we cherish concerning identity and love"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
PUL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1959-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Grøndahl, Jens Christian
Dewey number
839.8/1374
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Danish
LC call number
PT8175.G753
LC item number
T5813 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Grøndahl, Jens Christian
  • Widows
  • Friendship
  • Adultery
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • FICTION / Family Life
Label
Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn956687869
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
169 pages
Isbn
9781455570072
Lccn
2016056384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 1244817
  • (Sirsi) o956687869
  • (OCoLC)956687869
Label
Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn956687869
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
169 pages
Isbn
9781455570072
Lccn
2016056384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 1244817
  • (Sirsi) o956687869
  • (OCoLC)956687869

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      303 North Laura Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32202, US
      30.328998 -81.657873
    • Mandarin BranchBorrow it
      3330 Kori Road, Jacksonville, FL, 32257, US
      30.2052475 -81.62087989999999
    • Pablo Creek RegionalBorrow it
      13295 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32246, US
      30.289039 -81.4732779
    • South Mandarin BranchBorrow it
      12125 San Jose Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32223, US
      30.1501886 -81.6321243
    • Southeast RegionalBorrow it
      10599 Deerwood Park Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32256, US
      30.2489723 -81.5395619
Processing Feedback ...