Coverart for item
The Resource The Governess of Penwythe Hall

The Governess of Penwythe Hall

Label
The Governess of Penwythe Hall
Title
The Governess of Penwythe Hall
Creator
Subject
Summary
Perfect for fans of Poldark and Bridgerton, this Regency romance is rich with family secrets, lingering danger, and the captivating allure of new love, all taking place on the Cornish coast.Cornwall, England, 1811Blamed for her husband's death, Cordelia Greythorne fled Cornwall and accepted a governess position to begin a new life. Years later her employer's unexpected death and his last request for her to watch over his five children force her to reevaluate. She can't abandon the children now that they've lost both parents, but their new guardian lives at the timeworn Penwythe Hall . . . back on the Cornish coast she's tried desperately to forget.Jac Twethewey is determined to revive Penwythe Hall's once-flourishing apple orchards, and he'll stop at nothing to see his struggling estate profitable again. He hasn't heard from his brother in years, so when his nieces, nephews, and their governess arrive unannounced, he battles both grief at his brother's death and bewilderment over this sudden responsibility. Jac's priorities shift as the children take up residence in the ancient halls, but their secretive governess—and the mystery shrouding her past—proves to be a disruption to his carefully laid plans.Praise for The Governess of Penwythe Hall:"Brimming with dangerous secrets, rich characters, and the hauntingly beautiful descriptions Sarah Ladd handles so well, 1800s Cornwall is brought vividly to life in this well-crafted tale that kept me glued to the pages. What a brilliant start to a new series!" —Abigail Wilson, author of Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey"Absolutely captivating! Once I started reading, I couldn't put down The Governess of Penwythe Hall. This blend of Jane Eyre, Jane Austen, and Jamaica Inn has it all. Intrigue. Danger. Poignant moments. And best of all a sweet, sweet love story. This is by far my favorite Sarah Ladd book. Don't hesitate to snatch up this title!" —Michelle Griep, Christy Award–winning author"The Governess of Penwythe Hall is a delightful and emotionally gripping tale that will tick all the boxes for any Regency lover: romance, history, and enough unpredictable intrigue to keep you up past your bedtime." —Kristi Ann Hunter, author of A Defense of Honor"Lovers of sweet and Christian romance alike will fall in love with Delia's strength amid the haunting backdrop of her tragic past and the Cornish coast. Throw in a handsome leading man willing to turn his life upside down for the children in Delia's charge, and you have a story you can't put down." —Josi S. Kilpack, Whitney Award–winning authorSweet, full-length Regency romanceFirst book in the Cornwall novels (The Governess of Penwythe Hall, The Thief of Lanwyn Manor, and The Light at Wyndcliff), but can be read as a stand-alone storyBook length: 94,000 wordsIncludes discussion questions for book clubs
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ladd, Sarah E
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Historical Fiction
  • Romance
  • Fiction
Label
The Governess of Penwythe Hall
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:ecbb660a-0ad7-418b-8daa-5de7897d8625
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780785223177
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Governess of Penwythe Hall
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:ecbb660a-0ad7-418b-8daa-5de7897d8625
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780785223177
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Jacksonville Public Library JPLBorrow it
      US
Processing Feedback ...