Coverart for item
The Resource The dogs are eating them now : our war in Afghanistan, Graeme Smith

The dogs are eating them now : our war in Afghanistan, Graeme Smith

Label
The dogs are eating them now : our war in Afghanistan
Title
The dogs are eating them now
Title remainder
our war in Afghanistan
Statement of responsibility
Graeme Smith
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Sebastian Junger, Philip Gourevitch, and Dexter Filkins, Graeme Smith's brilliant book is a raw, uncensored account of the war in Afghanistan from a young reporter who for several years was the only Western journalist brave enough to live full-time in the perilous southern region. The Dogs Are Eating Them Now is a highly personal narrative of the West's war in Afghanistan and how it went dangerously wrong. Written by a fearless and respected former foreign correspondent who has won multiple awards for his journalism (including an Emmy for the video series Talking with the Taliban), this is a gripping account of modern warfare that delves into back alleys, cockpits, and prisons, telling stories that would have endangered the author's life had he published this book while still working as a journalist. From the corruption of law enforcement agents and the tribal nature of the local power structure to the economics of the drug trade and the frequent blunders of foreign troops, this is the no-holds-barred story from a leading expert on the insurgency. Smith draws on his unmatched compassion and a rare ability to cut through the noise and see the broader truths to give us a bold and candid look at the Taliban's continued influence--and at the mistakes, catastrophes, and ultimate failure of the West's best intentions. With the American retreat from Afghanistan in 2016 still a point of contention, there has never been a more urgent need for a comprehensive and intelligent look at the West's engagement in Afghanistan"--Provided by publisher
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1979-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Smith, Graeme
Dewey number
958.104/7
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
index present
LC call number
DS371.413
LC item number
.S65 2015
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Afghan War, 2001-
  • Smith, Graeme
  • War correspondents
  • War correspondents
  • Insurgency
  • Taliban
  • Afghanistan
  • Afghan War, 2001-
  • War and society
  • Afghanistan
  • HISTORY / Military / World War II
Label
The dogs are eating them now : our war in Afghanistan, Graeme Smith
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: The Prophet's cloak -- The road to Kandahar : September 2005 -- The surge : April 2006 -- Optimism : June 2006 -- Medusa : August 2006 -- Medusa's aftermath : September 2006 -- Quetta : November 2006 -- Masked men : February 2007 -- Detainees : April 2007 -- Fighting season : May 2007 -- The Karzai regime : September 2007 -- Death of a warlord : October 2007 -- Lessons from the Taliban survey : March 2008 -- Jailbreak : June 2008 -- At the gates of Kabul : September 2008 -- A toxic triangle : February 2009 -- Another surge : June 2011 -- Afterword: January 2013
Control code
ocn881665958
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xvi, 298 pages
Isbn
9781619024793
Lccn
2014034083
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, maps
System control number
  • 1168872
  • (Sirsi) o881665958
  • (OCoLC)881665958
Label
The dogs are eating them now : our war in Afghanistan, Graeme Smith
Publication
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction: The Prophet's cloak -- The road to Kandahar : September 2005 -- The surge : April 2006 -- Optimism : June 2006 -- Medusa : August 2006 -- Medusa's aftermath : September 2006 -- Quetta : November 2006 -- Masked men : February 2007 -- Detainees : April 2007 -- Fighting season : May 2007 -- The Karzai regime : September 2007 -- Death of a warlord : October 2007 -- Lessons from the Taliban survey : March 2008 -- Jailbreak : June 2008 -- At the gates of Kabul : September 2008 -- A toxic triangle : February 2009 -- Another surge : June 2011 -- Afterword: January 2013
Control code
ocn881665958
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xvi, 298 pages
Isbn
9781619024793
Lccn
2014034083
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, maps
System control number
  • 1168872
  • (Sirsi) o881665958
  • (OCoLC)881665958

Library Locations

    • Jacksonville Public Library MainBorrow it
      303 North Laura Street, Jacksonville, FL, 32202, US
      30.328998 -81.657873
    • Southeast RegionalBorrow it
      10599 Deerwood Park Blvd, Jacksonville, FL, 32256, US
      30.2489723 -81.5395619
Processing Feedback ...